Celiac disease and cereal allergy
Those suffering from Celiac disease and cereal allergy often avoid the same grains, even though these two diseases are fundamentally different.
Celiac disease is a chronic (incurable) intestinal disorder in which the gluten contained in familiar grains – wheat, barley, rye – causes intestinal damage and destroys the villi covering the wall of the small intestine. Oats are the only type of grain suitable for celiac sufferers, but it must be pure – it may not contain any other types of grains. Celiac sufferers can try eating oats under medical supervision.
You can read more about Celiac disease here: The Finnish Coeliac Society.
Cereal allergy, like other allergies, is an antibody reaction triggered by a certain protein (an allergen). The allergy may result in gastric, dermatological or respiratory symptoms. Sufferers may be allergic to one or more grains – for example, wheat.
Fazer product suitability
Fazer oat breads use wheat, which is not suitable for Celiac sufferers. Fazer's full rye breads and other wheat-free products are baked on the same production lines as our wheat products, so we cannot guarantee them to be 100% free of other grains. Therefore, it's worth checking the suitability of each product individually.
Grains are present in some Fazer confectionery, including chocolate wafers, chocolate wafer crumbs, cereal crisps and liquorice. Confectionery also commonly contains grain starch and glucose syrup. These starches and syrups are suitable for Celiac sufferers, as they contain only minimal quantities of grain protein(syrup under 0.05%, wheat starch under 0.3%). They may, however, cause symptoms in people with grain allergies, and also in the most sensitive sufferers of Celiac disease with skin manifestations.
You can check the suitability of Amica restaurants' lunch options by either reading the product information or asking a member of staff.
Fazer Bakeries product search
Fazer Confectionery product search
Amica restaurants' product description search